The winners of the 2013 Australasian Prehospital Emergency Health Research Forum, held in conjunction with the Paramedics Australasia Conference each year were announced at the conference dinner in Canberra.

The 2013 winners were:

APEHRF (David Komesaroff) Best Paper Award

This year’s winner was Tony Walker for his paper titled: The optimal technique for removal of upper airway foreign bodies: a repeated-measures, cross-over trial in a porcine model. Co-authors of this paper were; John Lippman, David Taylor, Ron Slocombe, Christine McDonald and Gary Nolan.

Tony Walker very graciously chose to donate his prize to another conference attendee, Judy Willie, who is the first indigenous paramedic in Vanuatu. Judy will use the prize to attend an overseas conference and present a paper.

Best Paper in the Category Higher Degree

The winner was Paul Davis for his paper titled: The Accuracy of New Zealand Paramedics’ Clinical Decision-making in the Application of an Autonomous Pre-Hospital Thrombolysis Protocol. Graham Howie co-authored this paper.

Best Undergraduate Student Paramedic Paper

The winner was Lynsey Smit for the paper on Management of ankle injuries in the prehospital environment – A review of the literature. Co-authored by Malcolm Boyle.

Best Poster

The prize for best poster was won by Paul Davey for his poster on the effect of paramedic position on external chest compression quality. Co-authored by Chris Whatman and Bridget Dicker.